top of page

Temporary Protected Status (TPS)

Temporary Protected Status (TPS) is a time-limited status granted to citizens of countries designated by the United States government who are within U.S. territory when circumstances in their home country make their return unsafe. It is granted to citizens of countries affected by armed conflicts, natural disasters, extraordinary or temporary conditions, allowing eligible individuals under this program to temporarily live and work in the United States.

The duration of a TPS designation can range from 6 to 18 months and can be extended for many years. At least 60 days before the expiration of the TPS designation, the Secretary of the Department of Homeland Security must announce whether they will extend or terminate the TPS designation.

As of the end of 2022, the countries currently designated for TPS are: Afghanistan, Cameroon, El Salvador, Ethiopia, Haiti, Honduras, Yemen, India, Myanmar, Nepal, Nicaragua, Syria, Somalia, Sudan, South Sudan, and Venezuela.

To be eligible for TPS, the applicant must meet various requirements and comply with USCIS standards. If approved, the applicant is legally permitted to work within the United States and travel with permission.


bottom of page